Review Headline

  • Read her letter. Remember her story... Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once you've heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever. In the winter of 1956 pregnant young Ivy is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a home for unmarried mothers in the south of England, run by nuns, to have her child. Her baby daughter is adopted. Ivy will never leave. Sixty years later, journalist Samantha stumbles upon a series of letters from Ivy to her lover, pleading with him to rescue her from St Margaret's before it is too late. As Sam pieces together Ivy's tragic story, terrible secrets about St Margaret's dark past begin to emerge. What happened to Ivy, to her baby, and to the hundreds of children born in the home? What links a number of mysterious, sudden deaths in the area? And why are those who once worked at St Margaret's so keen that the truth should never be told? As Sam unpicks the sinister web of lies surrounding St Margaret's, she also looks deep within - to confront some unwelcome truths of her own...

    Poche N.C.
    Livre étranger - Contacter votre libraire
    Nous contacter
    Sur commande
  • THE LOST CHILD

    Emily Gunnis

    From the author of the runaway bestseller The Girl in the Letter comes a heartwrenching, twisting novel of betrayal, tragedy and a shocking family secret buried for decades. 1952. Thirteen-year-old Rebecca decides to become a doctor after watching her mother Harriet die on the steps of their clifftop home. Harriet was shot by her husband who then turned the gun upon himself. As Rebecca fled Seaview Cottage, she saw a stranger in the window watching her. But no one would believe her story and the tragic case was closed. Present day. Iris, a journalist at The Times , has always been close to her mother Rebecca, a retired senior paediatrician. But when her mother insists Iris reads the diaries of her late grandmother Harriet, who was murdered by her husband, Iris starts to realise there is more to the past than she has always believed. At the Times , Iris receives a lead on a troubled young woman who is on the run with her dangerously ill baby. To Iris's surprise, the search takes her to Seaview Cottage, the scene of her grandmother Harriet's murder. Iris is about to discover what really happened in the clifftop cottage that fateful night... and to lay bare a secret so shocking it will change everything she thought she knew about her family.

    Poche N.C.
    Livre étranger - Contacter votre libraire
    Nous contacter
    Sur commande
empty